Presence was a British punk rock / indie / gothic /progressive metal band started by Gary Biddles, Lol Tolhurst, and Michael Dempsey. Dempsey and Tolhurst were founding members of The Cure, and Biddles was a former Cure roadie who previously played in a band with Simon Gallup called Fools Dance. Presence released only one album, called Inside through Smash Records, a subsidiary of Island Records).

In 1990, Dempsey, Tolhurst and Biddles were recording demos together with a view to forming a new band following Tolhurst's departure from The Cure. With the addition of keyboardist Chris Youdell (of Then Jerico) and drummer Alan Burgess the band emerged in 1991 as Presence with the singles, "In Wonder" and "All I See". Dempsey received co-writing credit for "Amazed"; the b-side of "All I See", but took a background role as a session guitarist, and did not appear in the band's photos or press releases. Porl Thompson also made guest appearances on guitar adding to Gary's guitars for "On Ocean Hill and "In Wonder" , but by 1992 both Dempsey and Thompson were officially replaced by bassist Roberto Soave (formerly of The Associates and Shelleyan Orphan) and guitarist Rob Steen respectively. However, Dempsey received co-writing credits for two tracks on Inside. The album Inside was well-received by critics in Europe and the UK

Tolhurst confirmed in an interview several years later that Presence had recorded a second album, which was produced by former Smiths producer John Porter.

Lol Tolhurst

Gary Biddles

Roberto Soave

Alan Burgress

Rob Steen